top of page

Mother's Day with the Spider-Man


Yesterday I took the day off to spend with my kids. Mother’s Day means something different to me now that I have one adult child and one teenager. It means more in some ways.


For Mother’s Days past, I usually took the day for myself. I would go hiking or spend the day watching my favorite movies. I just wanted some time for myself. When the kids were small, getting time for myself wasn’t always possible.


When they’re small, children always want to be around you. They always want your attention and it doesn’t matter what you’re doing or how busy you might be.


I almost always recognized this and would make time for my kids. I say “almost” because there were times when I wasn’t so attentive to my kids’ need for my attention and affection because I was distracted by other things. I am certainly not perfect, that’s for sure.


Now, though, getting to spend even an hour with one kid - let alone both of them at the same time - is an increasingly rare occurrence.


When older parents tell younger parents “you’ll miss the baby days when they’re gone”, believe them. Don’t get me wrong, I DO NOT miss the sleepless nights, dirty diapers, and potty training. Ugh! Potty training!


But what I do miss are the never-ending hugs and cuddles I got when they were small. I miss our Saturday Movie Nights where we binged on popcorn while cuddling in bed watching one of their movies (and as they got a little older, sharing some of my old faves).


So now Mother’s Day means time with my children. The time that I don’t often get - though I do want to point out that both of my sons still tell me every single day that they love me. Seriously, there isn’t a single day that goes by that I don’t hear those words from my loves.


It’s all about spending time with them these days. As much as I can get. Watching Spider-Man was a goal of mine because you see, ever since my youngest was about 6 or so, we have watched every single Marvel movie together.


He hasn’t really shown a lot of interest in the shows but he has watched some of them. He still hasn’t seen Moon Knight and let me tell you, that one is amazing!!



We also didn’t watch Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings because the school beat me to it - I’m still a little salty about that one, lol.


However, this time I was determined to watch Spider-Man: No Way Home with BOTH of my sons.


Watching a Marvel movie is another favorite pastime with my kids. It’s one that I have been missing and really wanted to make happen this Mother’s Day.


The movie did not disappoint! We loved it! While my youngest was a little annoyed at the beginning, as the movie progressed he got more excited right along with me.


And my oldest just enjoyed spending time with us. He liked the movie well enough but for him, it was about spending time with his family.


So, all in all, it was a good Mother’s Day.


I also can’t wait to see the new Doctor Strange. I haven’t seen it yet so no spoilers. I will also be watching that one with my boys.


Thanks so much for reading!





Me_N7.jpg

Hi, I'm Michelle, aka, Lady Rav3n

I'm a twitch streamer, YouTuber, and writer. I write both fiction and non-fiction with a focus on mental health in some form or another. I'm also a mom and a cat parent.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Creativity. Free Spirit. Mental Health Advocate

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s this blog, my YouTube Channel, and Streaming. I have missed writing though, so LADY RAV3N BLOGS was born. It is an extension to my YouTube and Twitch called, LADY RAV3N Gaming. I love writing about my passions, what interests me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers. LADY RAV3N BLOGS is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page