top of page

New Year, Rough Start


Christmas of 2022 was good but also, not so good. It started out great but by the day after Christmas, we all got sick. It started slowly and only hit one person at a time. By the time my youngest’s 16th birthday rolled around on the 29th - well, he spent this milestone of a birthday in bed with a fever.


We also planned a surprise birthday party for him that day, which we had to reschedule. We rescheduled for Saturday, New Year’s Eve but I was in bed with a fever by then. It was a helluva way to end 2022.


It is kind of fitting though when I think about it. 2022 started out with two of us being sick. Last year was a rough start and had a rough ending.


Now we are in 2023. We, parents, are still sort of sick but we are getting better by the day, which is good. Having to reschedule our son’s birthday twice wasn’t pleasant. This Saturday, however, come hell or high water we are having that damn party.


We had to tell our son about it so he could tell his friends but we are glad he is excited about the party. Nothing fancy, just arcade games and pizza at the mall but it's a fun place and I’m looking forward to it.

For me, I spent the time in bed, catching up on the Disney TV series based on one of my favorite childhood 80s movies, Willow.


I honestly don’t know how I feel about the show. I like it but some of doesn’t make sense to me. The timeline has the biggest question mark for me. I will talk about it another time though. Long story short, I have mixed feelings about it.


Before I got sick though, I was able to grind another game this year. Every year it is a different game. Last year it was ESO. The year before that was Destiny 2. This year it was Swtor (Star Wars The Old Republic).


This will be another blog post though as I really want to talk about it at length. I am also planning a video review of the game so keep a lookout for that.


No, instead, I just want to talk about New Year but not the day. The whole concept of out with the old and in with the new.


I think I stopped making New Year's resolutions about 5 years ago. It’s hard to make a plan for something, only to give it up or plans change not even a quarter way through the year.


A lot happens in the span of a year and you never know where you will be by the end of it so making a resolution just seems silly to me. I think it also causes too much stress, depending on the resolution you make.


I have definitely caused myself too much stress by making resolutions that never panned out.


Like, job hunting for example. I would go job hunting and say I would definitely have a job by such-and-such time only to have my hopes dashed by incessant interviews and no callbacks.


That’s just one example though. People make many different types of resolutions but how many of them actually come to fruition?


So, yeah I don’t make resolutions anymore. I have a guideline on what I want to accomplish for the year but I no longer hold myself to the fire if something doesn’t go the way I want.


It’s very freeing actually.


2023 started off rough because we all go sick but we are also recovering and well on our way to a new beginning. A beginning of what, I’m not sure but that’s the beauty for me.


Not knowing what the future will bring but being prepared for setbacks because there are ALWAYS SETBACKS. It makes life a little easier knowing that and being ready with the skills to handle it.


Anyway, Happy New Year ya’ll!


Thanks so much for reading!




Me_N7.jpg

Hi, I'm Michelle, aka, Lady Rav3n

I'm a twitch streamer, YouTuber, and writer. I write both fiction and non-fiction with a focus on mental health in some form or another. I'm also a mom and a cat parent.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Creativity. Free Spirit. Mental Health Advocate

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s this blog, my YouTube Channel, and Streaming. I have missed writing though, so LADY RAV3N BLOGS was born. It is an extension to my YouTube and Twitch called, LADY RAV3N Gaming. I love writing about my passions, what interests me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers. LADY RAV3N BLOGS is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page