top of page

My Top 5 Favorite Games to Play in October

Updated: Oct 12, 2021


Whenever October comes around, I always make time for some of my favorite October/Halloween/Horror type games. I don't have many. Which is weird because I love monsters, scary, horror type stuff. Horror has changed a great deal over the years though and what I consider horror, is no longer considered horror, in a sense.


I think of Vampires when I think of what is considered horror now. Vampires used to be scary and pretty much the king/queen badasses of the monster world. Now, thanks to Twilight, not only are they not feared anymore but they're a bit of a joke.


Not that I am against redeemable vampires. Hell, I write them myself. I tend to make my vampires the heroes in my stories. But I also write them as the scary, bloodthirsty, and not-at-all sparkly vampires they're supposed to be.


Vampires are my favorites of the monsters but they aren't the only ones no longer really considered horror as the horror genre, at least in movies, has changed. I grew up in the slasher horror movie era when it was at its peak. Others may disagree with me but I will take Jason, Freddy, and Michael Myers any day of the weak over Jigsaw and some of the newer slashers flicks out that just don't hold the same magic in my opinion.


Alright, you can get to the games anytime now.


The other day a gamer asked the group what horror games they should play for this time of year. Now most people suggested games that give a lot of good jump scares and blood and gore. Those are some really good games. I love to be scared. It raises the tension as I am trying to get through a game. When you survive, its all the sweeter!


But there are other games too and I think I have a pretty good mix here. Keep in mind though, these are games I have played. Later, I will give a list of games I want to try. These are my go-to games for October and will never go away.


So here it goes: My Top 5 October Games


My Number One spot goes to this amazing, story-driven gothic vampire game! I absolutely love this game! I love the old Gothic and this game definitely delivers that. You play a doctor name Dr. Jonathan Reid. He just arrives home to London during WWI, only to get attacked and become a vampire.


Seriously, the beginning of this game is amazing and will take you by surprise. At least, I think so.


Throughout the game you have to find out who turned you, solve a blood disease that is related to vampirism but gone horribly wrong and along the way you meet allies and enemies. You also get to choose your path. Not to the to extent of games like Dragon Age or Mass Effect but you get to choose to kill people or not. This is also in third person.


You can kill a few or kill a lot. Or you can go through the game not killing anyone. And the ending is amazing! Truly one of the best - and underrated games for the horror genre because it isn't "scary". It's gothic and that's enough for me. I highly recommend this game!



Now anyone who knows me, who reads this, should know that it comes as no surprise that my top 2 favorites are vampire games. 😂 This is an old game and I do wish that someone would remaster it (the company that originally made it is no more). They are supposedly making a new one but there has been a lot of drama behind the scenes so I'm skeptical as to when, or even if, that one will release.


Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines was one of the first PC games I ever played. It also came into my life at a really dark time. I hadn't yet been diagnosed with PTSD but I was struggling hardcore and this game gave me a reprieve from all of the bad mojo stirring up inside of me. I will ALWAYS have a special place in my heart for this game.


I will be honest, because it's such an old game, it can be hard to play on PC at times. There is an unofficial patch though that you can download so that the game experience is better for you on a new PC. I actually started a let's play of this game but have yet to finish it.


You play a just-turned vampire who is almost killed in the beginning of the game. You are introduced to a world of vampire clans and you are a part of one. You get to choose your clan before you start the game. You get to be male or female.


It's a whole underworld of politics, intrigue, and a lot of other things. The story is well written and these vampires fit the old vampire ways of staying secret (the Masquerade), sleeping all day and up all night. Great game! I highly recommend it. This game can be played in third person or first person.


And oh yeah, ghosts, werewolves and zombies. There are a few jump scares. Not a lot, but a few.



Dead Space is a trilogy and another really great game but instead of vampires, you have zombie-esque creatures called Necromorphs. You are also in the future and in space. This is a space horror game and it has a lot of jump scares. And grossness with the creatures you kill. It also has a great story to it.


You play as engineer, Issac Clarke in the year 2508, on board a mining ship and at the start of the game you are thrust into this new world, searching for your girlfriend Nicole, and fighting your way through the ship as you also uncover conspiracies and have to fight to survive.


I am not playing this game this year because they are remastering this one. So, hopefully, I will be streaming it next year for my October game of choice. I do recommend you give this game a try. It's full of jump scares, intrigue, and very story driven. This is also a third-person shooter.



I just started streaming this game and so far, I am really enjoying it. The game is only about 6 hours long and while it isn't the scariest game on this list, it certainly isn't without jump scares and some really intense moments. The story is also really well done and the character you play is a mystery.


You play a child named Six. you wake up on a prison ship of some kind and you have to find your way through the game, while these giant creatures try to eat you, among other things. This is also a platform game. I wasn't sure I would have the skills to play this one as the last platform game I tried, I failed miserably at (I tried Ori - Will of the Wisps and I had to ask my son to help me with the jumps 😂).


I tried this anyway and it is awesome! I love the intensity of this game as well as the challenge of figuring out what I'm supposed to do to get through each room. Trying to get past the giants and slugs and what-not. Oh, and you get hungry. REALLY HUNGRY.


This game has been added to must play games of October for sure! I recommend at least trying it. There is also a second game called Little Nightmares 2. I haven't played that one yet but I definitely want to!



This is another trilogy but I haven't played the third one yet, Metro Exodus. I have played the first two and I really enjoyed them. I actually am a bit disappointed this game isn't on most horror game lists. It is classified as a survival horror game but it's not as blatantly horror as some others on this list.


This is a first-person shooter (I know, I don't like most first-person shooters but here we are, lol) set in the tunnels of Moscow. You are a survivor of a Nuclear War and the people now live in the tunnels. This game is actually based off a novel called Dead Space by author, Dmitry Glukhovsky, which I find very interesting.


You play Artyom, a man who needs to save his home in the tunnels from being overrun by mutants (and many human) enemies. I enjoyed this game. There are some jump scares and I found this game to have just enough of the "scary" to consider this on my list of October games.


Scary is all about perspective though so it depends on the player whether or not they find this game scary but I definitely recommend giving this game, and it's two sequels, a try.


Some Other Games I want to Try:


I don't really vibe with the Resident Evil games. I played one of them way back in the day (can't remember which one) but the new one, Resident Evil Village, has me very intrigued. There are vampires and werewolves in this game. How could I not be intrigued? I have watched three people play this game, one of whom is my youngest son, and I have to say, it looks really good!


Wolf Among Us is another game I am interested in, though I honestly haven't made up my mind about it yet. I haven't played any of the Tell Tale games but this one does spark my interest. I'm sure you can guess, it's about a werewolf,😁


Costume Quest 2. I played the first one way back on Xbox and I had no idea they had another until I researched games to play for this time of year. This one definitely has my interest. Not jump scares but some fun and Halloween-y vibes, which is right up my alley.


There are a ton of different types of Horror/Halloween games out there. These are just the ones I know and love but feel free to check out all the others who may give you a thrill this Halloween.


I made a music video of the game Vampyr that you can check out below or on YouTube:


**Spoiler Alert with the video. Do Not Watch if you don't want to see the end.**




Have a Spooky one all!


Thanks so much for reading!




Me_N7.jpg

Hi, I'm Michelle, aka, Lady Rav3n

I'm a twitch streamer, YouTuber, and writer. I write both fiction and non-fiction with a focus on mental health in some form or another. I'm also a mom and a cat parent.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Creativity. Free Spirit. Mental Health Advocate

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s this blog, my YouTube Channel, and Streaming. I have missed writing though, so LADY RAV3N BLOGS was born. It is an extension to my YouTube and Twitch called, LADY RAV3N Gaming. I love writing about my passions, what interests me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers. LADY RAV3N BLOGS is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page