top of page

Elder Scrolls Online: An MMO To Get Lost In


I need to correct an error here. Technically, ESO is an MMORPG because of its strong role-playing elements to it. Lots of story that I will get to later in the post.


I don’t play that many MMO/MMORPG’s. Over the course of the last three years, I have discovered that while I do like certain MMO/MMORPG’s (Destiny 2, Star Wars the Old Republic, and Elder Scrolls Online), I would much rather spend my time with a single-player campaign focused RPG that has a kick-ass character creator.


Mostly this is because I prefer to play alone. While I have played with others in certain games like Destiny 2, Gears of War, and the Halo series I only play with people I know and trust. I dabbled in playing with those I don’t know. Randos is what they’re called. I’ve had some pretty tough experiences with those though.


I’ve experienced sexism while gaming with others. I’ve also experienced just plain toxic people who took the game way too seriously and bullied others during a raid in Destiny 2. I was done with Randos after that.


I’ve also made friends though, through online gaming.


However, those friendships didn’t last and in fact, led to way too much drama (both the male group and the female group that I played with) that I just don’t want to be a part of.


The female group of friends was really special people to me and honestly, I’m still dealing with the pain that it caused. I will say this though, it taught me some really valuable lessons.


I learned through all of that, that I really am a solo RPG player at heart.


However…


Every now and then, I need my MMO/RPG. For me, this past month, that MMO(MMORPG) has been Elder Scrolls Online. I think I mentioned it before but in case I didn’t, ESO is basically the MMORPG version of Skyrim but more updated graphics and the story takes place a thousand years before Skyrim.


There is a story there. A lot of story actually. And I can play so many different characters. I have 8 so far and plan to get two more as soon as I am able to buy the extra character slots for them. That’s the downside to MMOs. You are pretty much always spending real money on them.


You have that choice to spend or not to spend and sometimes I do spend. Most of the time I don’t. I like having the subscription though because I get extra storage and my craft bag that carries all of my runes, herbs, and blacksmithing items is unlimited.


I’m a looter in ALL games so you can see how that has a huge benefit for me, lol.



Every January I take a month long break from most social media. Mostly from YouTube and Twitch. This gives me the time I need to undo all of the overwhelming feelings I develop throughout the course of the previous year and to de-stress.


It gives me a chance to catch up on games I haven’t played in months as well as just enjoy the games that got to be too much while streaming them or posting them to YouTube.


A cleansing was much needed this January and that cleansing involved getting totally lost in ESO.


I played to my heart’s content and just got lost in it - for the better. I finally got my main character - My Wood Elf Warden Archer, Alyynna - to Champion Level!!! Yay!!


Like all MMO/MMORPG’s though, I like to take breaks from them. Otherwise they just get too irritating. I haven’t reached that point with ESO yet but I have taken a step back and limited some of my play time.



I do have other things going on after all.


And while ESO - and MMO/MMORPG’s aren’t for everyone, I do recommend this game if you’re into fantasy types with lots of options to customize and play many different characters.


And Remember: If you’re not having fun with a game, take a break from it. I have found this to be extremely important, even with my absolute faves.


Thanks so much for reading!!




Me_N7.jpg

Hi, I'm Michelle, aka, Lady Rav3n

I'm a twitch streamer, YouTuber, and writer. I write both fiction and non-fiction with a focus on mental health in some form or another. I'm also a mom and a cat parent.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Creativity. Free Spirit. Mental Health Advocate

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s this blog, my YouTube Channel, and Streaming. I have missed writing though, so LADY RAV3N BLOGS was born. It is an extension to my YouTube and Twitch called, LADY RAV3N Gaming. I love writing about my passions, what interests me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers. LADY RAV3N BLOGS is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page