top of page

Where the Story Begins and Ends (or “The Path of Storybook Hollow”)

A short story by Adam Kellogg


My son and I went on a short walk/hike the other day and saw something new at our favorite park. This is his short story that he wanted to share.


It’s been quite a long time since me and my mom went for a walk at Mill River, specifically when I was a kid and she used to take me and my brother Conner there. Today, my mom and I decided to take a walk at Mill River, since we haven’t done it in a long time. Going on a walk (whether to Mill River or elsewhere) always helps me, with my exercise and my spirit.

Upon meeting at the bridge, I noticed a sign right next to it: a sign that has a storybook cover on it. After crossing the bridge, more of these signs popped up, revealing more pages of the storybook. Turns out that, since November 15, 2020, The Mill District decided to put up a story walk along the Julius Lester Trail, a trail my mom and I always go to. They call it the Mill District Story walk, but I prefer to nickname it “The Path of Storybook Hollow”.

What’s a story walk, I hear some of you ask? Well, a story walk is a creative way for children and adults to enjoy reading while spending some time outdoors. Every page from a different storybook is attached to wooden stakes, typically installed along trails and sidewalks to create an interactive storybook experience. And for me, since this is my first experience with story walks, it’s definitely worth reading!

The storybook posted this month is Heidi E. Y. Stemple’s community-based adventure “Adrift”. With beautiful illustrations by Anastasia Suvorova, the story is about a small mouse, who is alone and afraid in the middle of a storm, but is joined by another boat, and they ride out the storm together. The Mill District Story walk gives me a calm, serene and wondrous vibe, and I was able to relax more while walking. The story walk really did me good, and got me and my mom thinking that we should walk here more often, at least two days a week, and that way, I won’t have to use the treadmill. There is more to tell about the story walk when going back to Mill River, but that will be another chapter for another day. For now, let’s close the book, knowing that next month’s storybook will always be waiting.


THE END


Thanks so much for reading!!!




Me_N7.jpg

Hi, I'm Michelle, aka, Lady Rav3n

I'm a twitch streamer, YouTuber, and writer. I write both fiction and non-fiction with a focus on mental health in some form or another. I'm also a mom and a cat parent.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Creativity. Free Spirit. Mental Health Advocate

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s this blog, my YouTube Channel, and Streaming. I have missed writing though, so LADY RAV3N BLOGS was born. It is an extension to my YouTube and Twitch called, LADY RAV3N Gaming. I love writing about my passions, what interests me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers. LADY RAV3N BLOGS is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page