top of page

Lost Time - A Short Flash Fiction Tale


This is my first attempt at writing a sci-fi oriented original story.


The last thing she remembers is fighting. Then dying. Something blew up and she was knocked to the ground. She remembers drawing her last breath. Her world had been invaded. Everyone was fighting for survival from an unknown alien species.


Her children were taken to an underground bunker for safety but she had stayed behind to help as many people as possible. She had some military experience so she knew what to do and how to defend herself and others. She thought she left that life behind.


Now she was literally fighting for her life and for the lives of others. Then an explosion. She was knocked off her feet. Then she remembers darkness.


The next sound she hears are murmurs and shouts. She is barely conscious. Then a bright light. So bright it hurts to open her eyes. For a moment she thinks heaven is real because of the light but as her eyes try to open and struggle to adjust, she sees stars above her.


Where is she? What is happening? Pain soon shoots through her whole body and she cries out. A young woman gently grabs her hand and says, “You’re going to be okay mom. I’m here and I found you.” Mom?


Still dazed by what is happening, she thinks she misunderstood the woman speaking to her. This woman can’t be her daughter. Her daughter is only 10 years old. She closes her eyes again. Her head is throbbing now. It feels like 10 thick nails have been hammered into her skull. She realizes she is being taken somewhere. Is she on a gurney? She tries to move but is in too much pain. The pain is so overwhelming to her now that she falls unconscious.


The next time she wakes up, a nurse is checking her vitals. She doesn’t feel any pain now. Immediately alert, she jerks her head upward towards the nurse and asks, “Where am I? What has happened? Where are my children?”


The nurse is quiet and turns away from her, walking towards the door to the hospital room. She opens the door and two adults, a man, and a woman walk in. They are smiling as they walk closer. The young man has his hands in his jean pockets while the young woman is clasping her hands in front of her.


The young woman looks familiar. She is the one who held her hand before. She is the one who called her mom. Soon the young woman speaks. “I know this is going to be very jarring and confusing for you but my name is Sylvie and I am your daughter.” Then she gestures towards the young man and says, “and this is your son, Davin. We are you children.”


Davin soon speaks, “you’ve been missing for a long time mom. Presumed dead, in fact.” Her head aches. How could this be? The last thing she remembers is being chased into a cavern, then the ground began to shake. An earthquake had begun. It was as if the Earth was trying to keep her and her children safe. There were aliens. What happened to the aliens?


Thanks so much for reading!



Me_N7.jpg

Hi, I'm Michelle, aka, Lady Rav3n

I'm a twitch streamer, YouTuber, and writer. I write both fiction and non-fiction with a focus on mental health in some form or another. I'm also a mom and a cat parent.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Creativity. Free Spirit. Mental Health Advocate

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s this blog, my YouTube Channel, and Streaming. I have missed writing though, so LADY RAV3N BLOGS was born. It is an extension to my YouTube and Twitch called, LADY RAV3N Gaming. I love writing about my passions, what interests me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers. LADY RAV3N BLOGS is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page