top of page

An Alternate Reality - A Poem


I have a lot to say about this subject but this poem is the best way for me to express how I have been feeling in light of Roe v Wade being overturned. Regardless of where you stand, this is how I feel and how I have been feeling about the overall state of my country.


I woke up the other day to an alternate reality

My body is no longer in my hands

My choices are no longer my own.


The message I received from the powers that be,

That I am too incompetent to decide for myself

And that my uterus doesn’t allow me to be truly free.


From the day I was born, I faced adversity.

I faced abuse and sexualization from an early age.

Being born female put a target on my back with their perversities.


It’s not just about abortion. It’s never really been.

It’s always been about control and power.

Over my body, my mind…Me.


And we females aren’t the only ones.

People of color, LGBTQ+

The disabled and even children.

They want to undo us and claim they won.


Won what exactly?

Power? Control?

They fear losing their superiority.

They fear losing their control.


So, to keep them superior,

They must make us inferior.

By any means necessary.


Human history is filled with this fear.

Fear of what they do not understand.

Fear of losing power and control.

Fear of losing their superiority.


This is not just about abortion!


What got us here?

Apathy and complacency,

That’s what got us here.


And they will continue to chip away at our rights.

The rights we fought for, one by one.

Until all that is left is an alternate reality

That none of us signed up for.


I never had an abortion.

I never even miscarried.

I was one of the lucky ones.

I planned my family and got married.


So why should I care, you ask?

This doesn’t affect you directly.

Oh little ignorant pup, you misunderstand

What this is really about.


No one has the right to tell another human

How to live their lives.

No one has the right to tell another what to believe.


It goes so much deeper than just abortion!


I care about my fellow humans

I care about my country and my planet.

So how could I NOT care?


The other day I woke up in an Alternate Reality.

Where I am no longer, Truly free.

(But have any of us ever really been?)


Thank you for reading,





Me_N7.jpg

Hi, I'm Michelle, aka, Lady Rav3n

I'm a twitch streamer, YouTuber, and writer. I write both fiction and non-fiction with a focus on mental health in some form or another. I'm also a mom and a cat parent.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Creativity. Free Spirit. Mental Health Advocate

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s this blog, my YouTube Channel, and Streaming. I have missed writing though, so LADY RAV3N BLOGS was born. It is an extension to my YouTube and Twitch called, LADY RAV3N Gaming. I love writing about my passions, what interests me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers. LADY RAV3N BLOGS is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page